PLDT SME Nation, Rappler Honor New Batch of #BeTheBoss Awardees

September 14th, 2016

be the boss

On its second year, #BeTheBoss continues to inculcate digital technology in making businesses big as the winners’ night took place last September 9, 2016 at the Conrad Manila in Pasay City.

#BeTheBoss is the first social media crowdsourcing search for a new generation of entrepreneurs who are harnessing digital tools to grow their businesses.

The panelists for this year include Eric Alberto of PLDT, Laura Verallo de Bertotto of VMV Hypoallergenics, Luigi Nuñez of Global Beer Zero Inc., Maria Ressa of, Mitch Locsin of PLDT Smart SME Nation, Senator Bam Aquino and Chot Reyes of Media5.

Accumulated votes from the panel plus the highest public votes determines the winners for the award, The Sexy Chef, Sky Eye Inc., Holy Carabao, and Pedro Brewcrafters emerged as winners for this year’s #BeTheBoss Awards.

Boss for E-commerce Rachel Alejandro and Barni Rennebeck of The Sexy Chef, Boss for Innovative Solutions Matthew Cua of Sky Eye, Inc., Boss for Social Responsibility Hindy Weber-Tantoco and Melanie Go of Holy Carabao, and Boss for Social Media Jill Borja, Nadine Fanlo, and Jaime Fanlo of Pedro Brewcrafters.

The winners of each category will be sent to Silicon Valley to experience networking opportunities to different top companies and each winner will also receive a BIZ Kit that includes a mobile phone, laptop and a tablet.

With performances by CRWN and World Hip Hop International 2016 Megacrew’s champions, UPeepz, Curtis Smith and Ransom Collective, the winner’s night was truly a celebration of passion, determination and excellence.