The 56th Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines with Sec. Harry Roque, Jose S. Concepcion Jr., Founder of TOSP, Presidential Adviser for Entrepreneurship Joey Concepcion, Marie Concepcion-Young, President of TOSP Foundation Inc., Pamela Asis Layugan, National Chair of TOSP Alumni Community and Dr. William Dar, President of Inang Lupa Movement.

After months of rigorous process, the 56th Ten Outstanding Student of the Philippines (TOSP) were finally named last April 23, 2018 at the Presidential Museum and Library.

This year’s Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines are Brian Adam S. Anay of Xavier University – Ateneo de Cagayan, Alexander Lacerna B. Bajarias of University of San Carlos, Mark Anthony P. Baliuag of Saint Paul University Philippines, Katherine Adrielle R. Bersola of University of the Philippines Diliman, Ronald M. Calamba of University of Bohol, Jerric R. Delfin of Central Mindanao University, Kevin U. Facun of Bulacan State University, Zedrick F. Laqui of De La Salle University – Manila, Mark Lorenzo D. Permalino of Saint Louis University, and Brendan Jansen L. Tangan of Saint Paul University Philippines.

The awarding ceremony was attended by Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque, Presidential Adviser Joey Concepcion, TOSP Founder Jose Concepcion Jr., TOSP President Marie Concepcion-Young, TOSP Alumni Community National Chair Pamela Asis-Layugan, and TOSP Chair of the National Board of Judges Dr. William Dar.

Presidential Adviser for Entrepreneurship Joey Concepcion.

Presidential Adviser for Entrepreneurship Joey Concepcion shared thoughts on the President’s mission of helping Filipinos move up in life, mentorship, and on helping micro and small entrepreneurs. He also acknowledged the sacrifices of their parents and teachers for honing them to become the people they are today. “No matter what you’ve accomplished, no matter what degree or honor you get, your right place has started. What is important is what you do with what you’re blessed with,” he imparted.

Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque

Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque represented President Duterte in the ceremony. In an inspiring message, he saluted the students as they have become “exemplary instruments of social change in the country” and considered them as the country’s pride and glory. He also encouraged them to be of service to the Filipino people by joining the government. “Hindi dapat kung sino yung malakas at kilala ang nakaupo sa gobyerno kundi dapat ang talagang the best and the brightest,” he continued.

Pursuing further studies and delving into the service sector are some of the TOSP awardees’ plans to support their advocacies. “We will live to the expectation of the values of TOSP to become a bayani and influence the youth to take part in nation-building,” assured Kevin Facun, one of the TOSP awardees.

The Search for the TOSP is the Awards and Formation Program established by businessman Jose Concepcion Jr. as a way of galvanizing the youth into action for social progress. It honors graduating college students who have not only excelled academically but have also dedicated themselves to serve their respective communities, organizations, and other spheres of interaction. It is the domain of dedicated servant-leaders who have heeded the call of lifelong learning, leading and serving.

The 30 finalists of the 56th Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines.

The 30 finalists include Genin Raya V. Amiscaray (Silliman University), Cristia Shiena S. Amparo (University of Nueva Caceres), Mark Angelo R. Arceo (Baliuag University), Mark Lee B. Babaran (Saint Paul University Philippines), Aljoe Luis M. Bacus (University of Cebu – Banilad), John Oliver E. De Vera (Benguet State University), Victorena A. Diesta II (University of the Philippines Los Banos), Mark Joseph A. Euste (Ateneo de Naga University), Jomar A. Felix (Philippine Normal University – North Luzon), Charles Allen L. Herpacio (Central Bicol State University of Agriculture), John B. Ituralde Jr. (Filamer Christian University), Alvin Bryan D. Jamili (University of St. La Salle – Bacolod), Arby S. Lagman (Manuel S. Enverga University Foundation), Julius Matthew M. Luzana (Western Mindanao State University), Jan Laurice N. Magbuhos (St. Scholastica’s College – Manila), Marylou J. Maluyo (University of Southern Mindanao – Main Campus), Mark Neil B. Pageet (Benguet State University), Marwin B. Pagsuyoin (University of La Salette, Inc.), Aira V. Pangilinan (University of La Salette, Inc.), and Charles Michael G. Salas (Camarines Sur Polytechnic Colleges).